the TEAM

thse guys keep the wheels of loksimulator.ch turning

The core team

Markus Rohrer

Project Manager / Website / Social Media


After graduation from ETH Zurich with a degree in Engineering, Markus performed an engineering internship at Rhaetian Railways (RhB) in autumn 2000. This is the reason for his ongoing emotional bonding with the RhB and their 700 series locomotives. The news about them being scrapped kicked off the idea of saving a cab as a simulator.

Markus ist tasked with the project management, with the website programming, and the appearance on social media.

Even though the left side of his heart still beats for the railroads, he has taken a professional turn and started his career as an airline pilot with Swissair immediately after his engineering internship in 2001. Earning his wings in 2003, he has been working as a pilot ever since. He currently flies for a living for Swiss holiday carrier Edelweiss Air as a Captain on Airbus A320 and A340 on worldwide routes, and for passion at the Fliegermuseum Altenrhein where he flies Pilatus PC-7 and P-3 air force trainers.

Christian Rohrer

Scientific Consultant / Electronics and Software Engineer / Physicist


Christian has taught students in physics for a whole professional life, and found a second professional passion as a scisntific advisor for a Swiss company producing electronics in the field of drive and control electronics technology. His incredible knowledge in the field of electronic interfaces is invaluable for us.

He is responsible for all the interfaces between the "heavy metal" hardware of the loco cab and the simulation software, as well as for additional scientific advice to the project.


Further team members and partners

Jürg Suter

Project partner / Dr.-Ing. / Dipl. Geographer


Jürg Suter is president of Vereins Dynamisches Eisenbahn System Modell (DESM). His association does scientific research on how simulators can be used to examine complex problem formulations in the railroading system. To achieve this goal, DESM owns a laboratory where several locomotive and signal switchboard simulators are set up in a network to perform research.

After 16 years of being a real railroad employee from the bottom up (he started off as a train dispatcher and then station manager), Jürg studied geography and earned his doctorate under the lead of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. mult. Eckehard Schnieder, Head of the institute for traffic safety and automation technology at the technical university of Braunschweig.

The cooperation with DESM is of high importance for our project, as they have gained a lot of knowledge in the field of simulator technology during the past years.. In turn, DESM is profiting from our new way of using a regular personal computer software to operate the simulator, and our research in electronic and software interfaces.

Das TEAM

Diese Personen bringen die räder von loksimulator.ch zum laufen

Das Kernteam

Markus Rohrer

Projektleiter / Website / Social Media


Markus hat nach seinem Maschinenbaustudium an der ETH Zürich im Herbst 2000 sein Ingenieurspraktikum bei der Rhätischen Bahn absolviert. Deshalb auch die Verbundenheit mit den "700er" Loks, deren bevorstehende Verschrottung ihn auf die Idee des Loksimulator Projekts brachte.

Er ist im Projekt für die Gesamtkoordination und Projektleitung sowie für die Website und den Auftritt in den Sozialen Medien zuständig.

Auch wenn sein Herz noch immer für die Eisenbahn schlägt – alte Liebe rostet nicht – hat er beruflich doch einen anderen Weg eingeschlagen und fliegt seit 2003 als Linienpilot, aktuell als Captain bei Edelweiss Air auf Airbus A320 und A340. Daneben fliegt er für das Fliegermuseum Altenrhein auf den Luftwaffentrainern Pilatus PC-7 und P-3.

Christian Rohrer

Wissenschaftlicher Berater / Elektroingenieur / Physiker


Christian hat ein Berufsleben lang als Physiker angehende Lehrer:innen ausgebildet und nebenbei als wissenschaftlicher Berater in einer Firma für Antriebs- und Regelelektronik gearbeitet. Sein immenses Wissen im Bereich Elektronik-Schnittstellen kommt unserem Projekt sehr zu gute.

Er ist in unserem Projekt für die gesamte Schnittstellenthematik zwischen den Führerstands-Komponenten und der Simulationssoftware sowie für weitere wissenschaftliche Beratungsarbeit zuständig.

Weitere Teammitglieder und Partner

Jürg Suter

Projektpartner / Dr.-Ing. / Dipl. Geograph


Jürg Suter ist Präsident des Vereins Dynamisches Eisenbahn System Modell (DESM). Der Verein befasst sich mit der Anwendung von Simulatoren für die Untersuchung von komplexen Problemstellungen im Eisenbahnsystem. Zu diesem Zweck betreibt der Verein DESM ein Forschungslabor, in welchem ein umfassendes Instrumentarium mit Fahr- und Stellwerksimulatoren entwickelt wird.

Nach 16 Jahren als Vollblut-Eisenbahner hat Jürg sich in einem Studium in die Geografie vertieft und unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. mult. Eckehard Schnieder, Leiter des Instituts für Verkehrssicherheit und Automatisierungstechnik an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig promoviert.

Die Zusammenarbeit unseres Projekts mit dem Verein DESM ist für uns von grosser Bedeutung, können wir doch auf dessen jahrelange Erfahrung beim Aufbau von Loksimulatoren und den dazugehörigen technischen Fragen zurückgreifen. Gleichzeitig profitiert der Verein DESM von unserem neuen Ansatz für die Simulationssoftware und die Schnittstellenprogrammierung.